My winter Garden Loves Snow

Image

In that I garden both my front and back yards [I don’t allow grass to take up any of my valued space], I have a true cottage garden.  The greatest problem with that plan is that during winter, my garden is very dried and ugly–ugly except when snow fills the spaces with its own unique bloom.

This is the entry into the left side of the back garden.  About midway down are bird feeders.

While the snow provides winter bloom, the birds provide energy-life.

The snow-covered bird feeders; bird baths; and trees become sculptural.

Photo: Looking out the back window, I see a large Magnolia--i.e. Mississippi  In fact, when I saw the magnolia, I knew this would be my home

evergreens

Prolonged snow on limbs can cause them to break; but because my garden is actually too shady, I don’t really mind losing the limbs.  I just arrange the limbs in my rustic arbors.

Other than that, a winter with lots of snow can mean  that spring gardening will be enhanced.

Is all this snow good for your garden?

by Sandi Duncan | Thursday, February 18th, 2010 | 

Ever hear the weather lore: “Year of snow, crops will grow”?

Think about it this way:

Sub zero temperatures mean that snowfall is much lighter because there isn’t much water vapor in the air

When temperatures are closer to 32 degrees Fahrenheit snowfall can be heavy and wet.

Years ago many farmers decided that if there was a snowy winter, temperatures wouldn’t be that cold, so the planting season could start earlier in the year.

They also thought there would be more water from the snow melt to help seeds sprout and seedlings grow.

Thus, the proverb Year of Snow Crops.

Maybe thinking about this weather lore will help give you the patience to get through this long, snowy winter, and help you get a jump start on your garden.

http://www.farmersalmanac.com/blog/2010/02/18/is-all-this-snow-good-for-your-garden/

An other thing that makes my winter garden ugly is that I cover it with a thick layer of leaves.  The snow conceals that effect; and the leaves actually help to insulate the soil beneath the snow. The melting snow seeps through the leaves and provides moisture that is needed–even in winter.  After the winter, I rake away the leaves; compost them; and allow the spring bulbs to begin filling the garden again.

Leave a Reply

