How to Plant Climbing Green Peas Outside

Image

Before you plant your peas outside, be sure that you have some system in place that will provide climbing.  I have a moving crate, that I painted years ago, nailed to posts.  [Things look particularly bad in my yard until they are covered with new life–this is not a fancy garden–Martha Stewart would cringe here] I have tied white string and allowed it to dangle to the ground.

Image

When the peas have germinated and begun to grow, I gently wrap them around the string, encouraging them to climb in that direction.

Image

Image

This is Ava Gardener, she is my whimsical obelisk that I am saving for a bed of nasturtiums.  She helped me with my pea planting.

We actually may have jumped the gun with this planting.  It was an experiment.  The manuals say to plant the peas outside when the ground can be worked.  The problem with this time of year [early February] is that one day the ground can be worked and the next it is frozen solid again.  I am not sure how to interpret those instructions.  I had started these pea plants inside and I am holding many of the starts inside to set out later.  I decided to just experiment by setting these guy outside–probably too early.

In some of the images, you can tell that there was still snow on the ground yesterday, when we planted these peas.  The soil is saturated from the melting snow; but God decided to give us an extra boost today, by giving us some more rain.  The problem is that this rain will turn to snow within a few hours.  The ground will freeze again overnight.  As I said, this is an experiment.

File:Vancouver Rain.jpg

Leave a Reply

