Plant Some Vincent Van Gogh in Your Garden

This year I am trying to bring some of my favorite artist, Vincent Van Gogh, into my garden. My garden has always been wild and a bit unkempt–a quality that I like in Van Gogh’s work, but this year I have planted a lot of the typical Van Gogh color schemes–complementary pairings of blues, red oranges, and school bus yellow.

Vincent_van_Gogh_-_Self_portrait_with_bandaged_ear_F529

Red or red orange and pink and green are complements and most gardens have a bit of that color scheme somewhere–either pinks and greens and/or reds and greens .  You don’t see as much of the red and green combo in Van Gogh’s art, but it is there.

angeljuly1 11264820_10207084655737883_5397429505643085194_n

1280px-Van_Gogh_-_Starry_Night_-_Google_Art_Project

Dutch blue and school bus yellow are also complements–this is a scheme that dominates my favorite of Van Gogh’s art–

1

And blue and orange are complements. 

img_vangogh_self-portrait_lg

Van-Gogh-Self-Portrait-720x405

My garden market was selling orange coneflowers for a great price [3 for $5], and I bought several. Like Van Gogh’s oranges and yellows, these coneflowers are somewhere between the two colors. As usual, I have planted yellow rudbeckia, blue asters and blue hydrangeas.

In art, when you place complementary colors side by side, they shriek.  Complementary pairings are responsible for much of what I love about Van Gogh’s paintings.

Things in my garden are just beginning to pop. We’ll see how this turns out.

Leave a Reply

