It Is True – Strawberries and Some Other Plants DO Need High Acidic Soil

Several years ago, I began a campaign to have a grassless lawn.  I have long advocated the kill-two-birds with-one-stone approach to life, and I decided that strawberries would be the perfect plants to edge various garden plots.  The strawberry plants have done well.  In places, they have become a ground cover., but the strawberries–the actual fruits–have been slow in coming.  I actually sort of gave up on the idea of having an abundance of fruit, and have considered yanking the plants.  This year, however, I did find several berries in one area of my yard–a rather shady area that actually surprised me.

Yesterday I read that strawberries like acidic soil.  My front yard is bordered by massive sycamore trees.  In fall, the trees blanket my yard with leaves.  Contrary to what my neighbors would like, I endorse the use of leaves as mulch, and once the leaves have fallen, I allow them rest–at least until spring.  During some years, I have allowed the leaves to stack indefinitely.

The soil in my front yard has definitley amended [I live a few houses from the Atlantic Shore, and the sand needed to be altered.  The problem with the front is that t]while the sycamores have dropped a treasury of leaves to the earth, they ave also cast a large amount of shade.  The back yard is free of the massive shade trees, but the soil there has not had the benefit of the tons of leaves [incomplete]

Leave a Reply

