The Mini Pumpkin Obelisk I’m Planning for Next Year & How I’ll Use All Those Little Pumpkins

Children's

http://www.bhg.com/gardening/plans/vegetable/easy-childrens-vegetable-garden-plan/

This will sound nuts to some, but I have already planned my vegetable garden for next year.  At the top of the garden, I will plant the mini pumpkin and morning glory obelisk that I found on the Better Homes and Gardens online site.  I plan to plant the sunflowers and strawberries–the whole nine yards, but after I decided to plant the mini pumpkins, I began to wonder what I’d do with all the little fruits of my labor.

The plan calls for using mini whites called Baby Boos–

And mini oranges are called Jack Be Little.

 Morning Glory Heavenly Blue

The morning glory Heavenly Blue is also planted to vine amonst the pumpkins.

I’ve grown pumpkins before, and they are exciting plants to watch develop–a definite thrill for kids of all ages.  The only problem is that full-sized pumpkins require a large and sunny garden, and although my garden is large, my sunny area is small.  The mini guys seem to be my best best.

The white pumpkins would be especially great painted– or scribed with sharpies.

   

  

And both colors would be fun on wreaths.

If the obelisk is large enough, you could even vine some decorative squashes and gourds on it–or you could grow those on another trellis.

Cornucopia Wreath

But I am also heartened to know that mini pumpkins can also be great treats for eating.  I read that Jack Be Little is actually an old, revived squash plant.

You can just brush the little fruits with ovive oil and sprinkle them with salt and pepper–and then roast them.

And you can serve pumpkin or butternut squash soup inside them.

Campell’s makes a high end Butternut Squash Bisque.  You could pull a true “fast” one, and just serve Campbell’s hard work in the little mini bowls that you yourself roasted.

I especially like the other food ideas that I found at:  www.thekitchn.com/what-to-do-with-all-those-mini-69921

For savory pumpkins:

Wash your pumpkins and cut off the top the same way you would a regular sized jack-o-lantern. Scoop out the seeds, hollow out a bit if necessary and stuff with a filling of your choice. Place on a sheet pan and roast in a 350 degree oven until the flesh is soft and the filling hot. Suggested fillings:

  • a dab of butter [or brush with olive oi]l, a small clove of garlic and a sage leaf or thyme sprig. Or add a tablespoon or two of cream.

For sweet pumpkins:

Cut off the tops a little lower down to expose a larger surface area. Scrape out seeds and use the minis the same way you would a ramekin.

  • fill with pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin pie or creme brulee batter. Bake at the temperature called for in the recipe; you may have to bake a little longer as the pumpkin’s sides and flesh are thicker than most ramikins. If you think you’ll miss the crust on the pumpkin pie, cut decorative leaves from pie dough, bake, and use as an edible garnish.
  • simply dot with butter and sugar or maple syrup and bake.
  • bake the lids along side of the bottoms and use as a decoration on your final plating.

I actually drew the following plan of next year’s garden on a free computer drawing program called Inkscape.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

