How to Build a 4′ x 8′ Lean-To Tool Shed

My next projects will be a pair of storage sheds — one a 4′ x 4′ and one a 4′ x 8′ storage shed. The sheds will rest, end-t0-end, next to the Eastern side of my house.

1

Palettes form the floor of the above, a palette forms the bottom shelf of the below

The 4′ x 4′ will sit behind a covered potting bench., that will open toward the sink.   Along the wall of the house, I’ll hang shovels, rakes, etc.  Above and below the bench, I’ll add shelves for storage of potting soil, seeds, etc.

Preserving History

 Build shelves for large pots of herbs to grow on a wall garden.

The back of this potting bench will also be the back of the 4′ x 4′ shed behind it.

I’ll build shelves here.  On the shelves, I’ll store the outdoor cushions, charcoal, and other things that I’ll use in the outside kitchen and dining area.

On the garden side of the 4′ x 4′ shed, I’ll put an old window.  I want this to look like a little doll house and its garden.  I’ll build shutters for the window, add gingerbread, and a window planter. Old fence will move down the side, toward the sink.

flea market gardens4

On the corner of the garden, near the window, a small trelis will be built.

The North side of this shed [a narrow side] will be the Southern side of the Garden Tool Shed.  The West side will rest next to the house, and the East side will open into a lean-to outdoor dining area.  This shed will actually be a work space/storage area for the outdoor kitchen.

On the Northern end of this area, I’ll build another set of shelves like those in the other area.  I’ll keep charcoal and all the other outdoor cooking stuff here.

Because the storage shelves will be on the North end, the double dorrs will not cover the entire width of the Eastern side of this space.  The Western wall will be made to look more like a kitchen pantry.

Leave a Reply

