Clematis That Are Blooming in My Yard Today

Dr-Ruppell-clematis

In a sheltered, out-of-the-way place today, I noticed that my new Dr. Ruppel Clematis has begun to bloom. I tend to love the blue and purple clematis, and the only reason that I bought this one was because it was on clearance.

ClematisVarietyMultiBlue_01

Last year, I set up a large obelisk and along with a Zepherin Drouhin rose, I planted 3 types of blue clematis in it. The earliest to bloom was the Multi-Blue.

About 2 weeks ago, my First Lady Clematis began to bloom.

june_2016_obeslisk

My First Lady bloomed at the same time as my peonies and my iris. It was beautiful.

june17-2016badj

About 1 week ago, my Jackmanii began to bloom. It was vining through a bench that is planted in my front garden. and this morning, I noticed Dr. Ruppel. I planted the first 3 clematis plants last fall and this was their first year to bloom. I planted Dr. Ruppel about a month ago–after I found him on the clearance table.

This morning, I noticed another jackmanii that had vined to the top of my obelisk, and the Dr. Ruppel that was still down at the bottom of the obesisk. I planted the first 3 clematis plants last fall and this was their first year to bloom. I planted Dr. Ruppel about a month ago–after I found him on the clearance table.

I am not sure when Dr .Ruppel when bloom next year–a year after having been set in my ground, but I have determined to keep better notes this year about when things bloom, and this is my story for my clematis this year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

